A New Blog and {thankful}

A new blog.

I’ve been itching to write these days… and I know that in the midst of all that goes on around here, writing is the best way for me to experience blessing twice.
I too often allow my blessings to flit by without even a slight notice. But there is so very much to thank Him for.

So, beginning at this moment? Dear, sweet girl who woke at 6 am and just simply needed me. My tired eyes rebelled at the thought of opening and waking. But when I lifted her up out of her crib… held her warm body close, and she sweetly said “HI!”, holding her trumped any desire to stay cocooned in the warmth of our bed.

Well, it trumped most all of my desire. haha. = )

I’m not much of a morning person. But how can you not smile at a fresh blondie who is excited to see you?

Then there is the fresh brewed coffee.

With the decadent splash of whipping cream. Have you ever tried this? Dessert in a cup, I’m telling you. It will cause multiple waves of thankfulness. Guaranteed.

And as my children trickle out of bed, with all their unique personalities and quirks, the sun peeks over the hilltop out our front living room window. It is amazingly beautiful.

I want to savor this beauty.

I want to live in smiles and sunshine and roses. But that’s not reality. The reality lately in our home has been hard. Just hard. The behaviours. The crying. The anger. The failure on my part. The lack of patience. The unkindness toward each other. The bickering. The fighting.

And the hard thing is that I have no idea what to do next. I don’t know what is right or wrong amidst all the parenting techniques out there. I’m tired of all of them spinning around in my head.

So do you know what my battle plan is?

I’m going to pray. I’m going to pray and wait.

For God to show me how to be in every situation.

And I’m going to trust that He is enough, without all the books and other people in my head saying what I should or shouldn’t do.

And I am going to HOPE. Because I believe He is enough.

Enough for my failures.

Enough for the bickering and fighting.

Enough for the anger.

He is able. And He is strong. And I’m so very thankful.

That’s what I’m truly thankful for today.

3 thoughts on “A New Blog and {thankful}

  1. He is Enough. He is more than enough. Neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord! Rom. 8:38-39

    Like

  2. What a wonderful way to start your virtual home. Welcome!

    I’ll keep you and your family in my prayers. I’m a morning person and a night person! Insane I know, but I can relate to making the time for your children. I have a twelve year old daughter that I adore. We spend a lot of time together. We end each evening with our “mommy/daughter” talks. We end those discussions with devotions. Sometime she leads, afterwards we discuss what we’ve read and see if we can pull what’s been read into our own lives.

    We also have been watching some Christian based movies. A few days ago, we started watching War Room. some of what you wrote above made me think of that movie and I hear you on the power of prayer. It’s something I’ve been doing even more lately. I realized if I truly say God is first in my life, than my actions need to show it and the past 1.5 years I have been doing just that. You know something? I’m finding my relationship with Christ has become tighter along with the relationships I have with others. We’re hoping to finish War Room tonight, since she does not have after school play practice at her Lutheran school.

    Like

    • Thank you for the welcome! I love the evening time you have with your daughter. That’s beautiful and surely will be a lifeline for her as she grows and deals with the challenges of teenage years. Truly prayer is something God has been teaching me more about these last few years. And I love the thought that prayer is partnering with God to accomplish His will. So powerful!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

