yarn along: spinning, it’s what makes the world go ’round. and reading, too.

I know, I know.  Clever title, right?!

I love to spin.  It is one of THE most relaxing things ever.  I got a dear little Ashford Traditional about 3 years ago.  Or 4? I forget. Anyhoo, it was my husband’s Christmas present to me, that I could pick out a spinning wheel. So I went on Craigslist, and lo and behold there she was.  Just waiting for me to learn how to make wool into yarn.

We went that cold January evening to pick her up, and the sweet lady I bought her from gave me a few pointers, some wool to start with, and I was off!

That wool was a beautiful shade of turquoise, but was super greasy and scratchy.  I didn’t know the difference though! I was happily learning how to treadle, draft, and all the other new things that spinning introduced me to.

In the last year, I have learned a new technique, najavo or chain plying.  And it is a whole new kind of spinning delight.  Three plies, looks lovely, and once you get the hang of it (thank you YouTube videos!) you feel like The Most Amazing and Talented Spinner Ever.

Lately I have completed spinning two braids.  Most recently, a braid from a dyer on ravelry who is very talented.  It is Navajo plied, and hasn’t been soaked and thwacked yet, but I’m thinking it turned out to be sport weight.  200 plus yards. It’s a lovely blend of merino/alpaca/silk/nylon and I’m not sure what else?  Stripey goodness of purple, gray and cream.

Bad nighttime photo, here ya go: (and yes, that is a basket I dearly love in the background that looks like it’s knitted.)

IMG_2670

Before I did this braid, I finished a skein of sock yarn (Merino/Nylon) that is also Navajo plied stripey goodness, and is from Two if by Hand, 352 yards, colorway “I’m Sorry.”. This may or may not be leaving my house to go to someone I really know would love it… but I shall have to see if I can bear to part with it.

IMG_2549

As far as what I’m reading… it’s been a mishmash of things lately and I haven’t had loads of time. I am slowly making my way through this one though…and oh, it is speaking to my soul.  It’s all about finding the layers of who God is.. and it’s reminding me that just because I have had an idea in my mind of who He is doesn’t mean I know Him.
Or that my idea is accurate.

She speaks of the grief of barrenness.  Yes, I know this.

She speaks of the hard things about adoption. And the unexplainable joys of it.                       I know of this as well.

And what has swelled and burst the gates of my heart and the tears from my eyes is the thought that God. Is. Good.  That He is who I can run to when it hurts. That He longs for me to come to Him first.  And just as the author’s daughter ran away when stung by a jellyfish, so often I run away and hide when I am stung.

My heart longs for a deeper understanding of this Abba.  My need for Him seems to grow exponentially each day as I attempt to parent and feel like I’m failing at it no matter what I do. But God.  So good.  So aching for me.  More than ever I could for Him.

Mmmm.  Good, good things to think on and chew on and mull over while I wash those dishes, sort that laundry, and especially drink that coffee.

Have any of you read this book? I’d love to hear your thoughts. = )

IMG_2679.JPG

Joining  Ginny

 

7 thoughts on “yarn along: spinning, it’s what makes the world go ’round. and reading, too.

  1. That looks like a wonderful read! I read a book titled City of Tranquil Light. It is about missionaries (a novel) and the most powerful part was at the end when the author had the man missionary say something like, “I know that God created me so He could love me.” I cling to that.
    Great post. Thank you.

    Like

  2. Your yarn is lovely, the last one reminds me of springtime. Interestingly enough, earlier this week, I ordered a yarn that is colorful also. The colors are a bit bolder than what you’ve shared here, but they still remind me of spring.

    “And just as the author’s daughter ran away when stung by a jellyfish, so often I run away and hide when I am stung.”

    Oh boy can I ever relate to this! The past year or so, God has really been working on me in this area and I am actually listening! It’s so much easier when we do this, right? But at the same time, it can be hard to do. Just like Peter walking on the water. I have never heard of the book, but I will be ordering it now. Recently, I purchased the book Repentance. It’s a great read and although it’s small, it’ something I’m taking my time to consume, savoring each word, digging into the scripture provided and just feeling thankful that I’m opening myself up to Gods blessings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

