yarn along: yarn/books/wool/blessings

Joining Ginny

IMG_2879.JPG

IMG_2880

Making progress on my friendship shawl… it’s such a comforting knit. Reliably easy, no pattern necessary, just knit, knit, knit.  It’s airy and light, and balls up into a tiny little thing, so it fits in any bag.

I’m reading “The Rivers Run Dry” by Sibella Giorello.  I’m not very far into it, so the jury is still out on whether I’m going to like it or not. I’ve taken to the luxurious habit of sneaking in a little reading in bed right before I go to sleep most nights. I don’t seem to read much in the way of things for myself during the rest of the day, so this is when I’m reading library books or something off my shelf that has nothing to do with school.

Speaking of school… I have figured out something AWESOME.  I can knit while I read out loud. This, my friends, is a life-changing phenomenon.  As long as it’s not a complicated project, I can hold the book down with another book, and read and knit and oh yes.  OH!  I feel like I just might’ve discovered the secret to homeschooling and relaxation all at the same time. 

These are the books we are going through in our Morning Time lately. Not all in the same day.  But one or two or three each day.  I usually alternate hymns and poetry, and Science and History.  We don’t have a hard and fast plan or schedule.  I’m working on that.  Maybe.  Right now I feel like I’m still recovering from my anxiety-laden homeschool mode, so I’m trying to be careful to go slowly as I plan and think about what we are doing.  To try simply resting.  It’s been a challenge, too.  I tend to want to go through ALL the books.  Every day.  Quantity over quality has somehow become an illness I didn’t know I had with our homeschool.  The podcast I listened to by Andrew Kern (the head somebody -or-other from Classical Academic Press) is still resounding in my head.  “If you finish your lessons at 11:30, rest in this and send your children out to play. Don’t try to cram another lesson in to “get ahead” – who are you trying to get ahead of?

Rigorous education, by his definition, is focused attention. ” Focus on the math lesson. 15 minutes of math a day until high school graduation is a monumental amount of math. ”  

Oh me, oh my.  Like water to this weary soul.

IMG_2871

This little knitted project by the way? – A sweater for Miss A.  And I do not knit this while I read out loud to the children.  I have not in any way, shape or form mastered the art of fair isle knitting while reading aloud. Ha! My multi-tasking abilities only reach so far.

IMG_2872

IMG_2874

IMG_2875.JPG

IMG_2876

I plan to do buttons instead of a zipper.

And Miss A is positively thrilled that I am knitting her a sweater.

IMG_2884.JPG

I love color.  It makes me happy.  And the green yarn? It is some merino silk that I spun thinner than anything I have ever spun before.  It was thread-like before I plied it. It is approximately half of a braid of merino silk that I finished a while ago, but just washed yesterday. So far I have 360 yards of a very, very light fingering weight yarn.  It is Navajo plied.

IMG_2865.JPG

IMG_2866.JPG

IMG_2862

IMG_2881.JPG

This is how much fiber I have left…

IMG_2877.JPG

I started spinning it again yesterday for the second skein.

IMG_2867.JPG

And although I love to take pictures of yarn and books and knitting, my favorite of all are these littles… Mr. J is reading aloud to his sisters these days and it is sweet music to this mama’s ears.

IMG_2854

Every blessing You pour out, we’ll turn back to praise.

Blessed be the name of the Lord,

blessed be Your holy name.

9 thoughts on “yarn along: yarn/books/wool/blessings

  1. your yarns are beautiful, really special!!! i don’t know how to spin but i would love to learn!!

    your children are adorable!!!!

    Like

  2. Such a lot of knitting and reading wonderfulness! I cannot imagine reading while knitting, and I’ve heard of several people who do; I’ll stick with listening to podcasts and/or watching a show. 🙂

    Like

  3. I’m glad you are reading and knitting at the same time. I cant do that with certain projects. I love your navajo plied yarn. It looks amazing. You did a wonderful job with the spinning.

    Like

  4. The books you’ve chosen look fascinating. I’ll have to check some of them out. These days, I’m spinning more than I’m knitting. I’m happy to say that I’m not making the same mistakes that I was six weeks ago, when I started spinning. I’ve moved on to another place. My handspun yarn still isn’t perfect, but I love it… despite the flaws, just like God loved us that he sent his son Jesus to sacrifice his life for all of us, who are incredibly flawed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

