yarn along: spin.knit.read.repeat.

Joining Ginny from Small Things

I have now finished the second book of the Raleigh Harmon series by Sibella Giorello.  The more I read from this author the more I enjoy her writing.  It is pithy and original, and the main character, Raleigh Harmon, who is a forensic geologist for the FBI, struggles with her desire to follow her instincts vs. a supervisor who seems to have it in for her.  The book so far has dealt with racism, prejeduce, white supremacy, mental health, and various other heavy topics.  Many fiction books feature protaganists who seem to have it all together, face a minor problem, and then quickly recover.  Ms. Giorello writes courageously about human flaws, and the age old battle of good vs. evil with depth and compassion.  It’s the most honest book I’ve read in awhile, as well as including a favorite thing of mine: seeking Jesus amid the very real struggle of hard things.

But – the book in the picture is the third book.  And I actually haven’t begun it.  Is that fair? I have no doubts after the first and second book that I’m going to love this one.  I plan to enjoy beginning it very soon.  I love the respite that reading a good book brings. I don’t read nearly as often as I used to – but my bedtime reading, as well as occasionally over my lunch after the children are down for rest time – is a lovely time.

I knitted a bit over the weekend on my yellow shawl, while we were camping.  Sitting in the sun in a lawn chair and knitting?  Yes, please. I’m also picking up these socks on occasion. They are an easy knit as well.  Just straightforward socks, and I’m going to be trying my hand at an afterthought heel for these.  I’d relegated them to their project bag for a few weeks thinking that they were knitting up too large. But I took the needles out and tried them on – and they are perfect.  Yay!  Ravelry notes and a link to the pattern are here

Once again, though, I’ve been spinning more than anything. I have several braids to spin up for other people, and then I plan to spin a few of my fibers up just for fun.  I have quite a few different braids, and I’d love to try spinning some heavier weight yarns than I have been. And who knows? Maybe I will post a few for sale someday.  = )  Key word: someday.

This is almost finished… just a bit more to go on this BFL/Silk blend and it remains to be seen whether I will be able to fit it all on one bobbin.  I cannot wait to ply this stuff.  Plying a yarn feels magical, somehow, watching new yarn appear, whirling around on the bobbin as it turns from singles into a lovely finished yarn.

IMG_3026

IMG_3040.JPG

 

IMG_3042.JPG

 

 

 

 

And now for a quote from our audiobook story today that I thought was simply lovely.

 

“It’s not the biggest things that count, and make the biggest show,

It’s the little things that people do that make the old world go.”

One thought on “yarn along: spin.knit.read.repeat.

  1. Your book series sounds intriguing! I think it might be perfect for summer reading on the patio. I LOVE the gray and blue sock. Great color. And the spinning… I am so drawn to colorful braids these days. Can’t wait to try one. The BFL silk looks lovely!

    Like

Leave a Reply

