yarn along: yummy yarn squishiness

This spin was a delicious one.  Squishy, poofy, merino fiber spun itself quickly into approximately 180 yards of worsted-ish yarn.  I can’t believe how fast it spun up.  Super fun, and will be shipped off to it’s recipient soon!  The fiber is ShirstyCat Designs 100% Merino.

IMG_3121.JPG

IMG_3129.JPG

 

IMG_3127.JPG

I began another braid yesterday – this is Malabrigo Nube., which is notoriously felted, and can be difficult to spin.  But I’m finding it isn’t too bad, as long as I consistently draft it. It’s destined to be a two-ply, roughly dk weight.  We shall see if it agrees. =)   The colorway is arco iris, although it’s possibly the strangest arco iris I have ever seen.  Most of that colorway seems to have much more purple and blue and a lot less orange.  But it’s spinning up beautifully – soft, muted, sunset colors.

IMG_3143.JPG

IMG_3142.JPG

IMG_3139.JPG

Here is a glimpse of the fiber, pre-spun. = )
And my book.  I’m almost done with it, and yet again, I am impressed by this author.  I don’t want the series to end.  This is what I’m picking up at night when I go to bed… it just is such a great way to end the day, with a good book and quiet all around.

Also been enjoying this old favorite with my children…

IMG_3141.JPG

This book is just so funny.  Everyone is just loving it, and request more and more and more.  So far we have read “The Selfishness Cure”, “The Fighter-Quarellers Cure”, “The Show-Off Cure”, and “The Cry-Baby Cure”.

Otherwise, my knitting (which isn’t pictured) is still on my socks and shawl.  They both have been in time-out at various points this past week, so they didn’t get their pictures taken.  I messed up on my shawl on the edging for several rows, so I took that out and it’s ready to be good again.  On my stripey socks I read the directions wrong on the heel, so it needs some TLC and I will need to take it out back to the heel.   Argh.  Ah well. So it goes. Not exactly a large problem in the grand scheme of things.

Joining Ginny at Small Things.

What are you knitting and reading this week?

 

Leave a Reply

