making homemade greek yogurt

I have made yogurt in the past.

And I just have to say, that it’s one of those things that just always makes me feel like I have somehow conquered the domestic world. Thank you very much.

Something like this sounds like it ought to be hard.

But it’s not. You even do it in the microwave.

Basically, you need three things:  milk, plain greek yogurt, and a kitchen thermometer.

It goes like this:

Homemade Greek Yogurt

-Put 8 cups of milk in a microwave safe bowl. (I use my 8 cup pyrex measuring cup)

-Heat for approx. 16-20 min-until it tests at 180-190 degrees F

-Place bowl with milk in a sink with cold water and ice cubes to cool it down to 110-120 degrees F

-Stir in 1-2 Tablespoons of plain greek yogurt. (I glopped a couple spoonfuls in) and stir well.  It’s even better if you take a little milk out and stir in the greek yogurt to that so it’s easier to mix.

-Turn oven on and count to 10 and turn it off to let it get just a smidgen warm, then turn oven light on.  Put suran wrap on your bowl of not-quite-yogurt-yet and place in oven for 8-12 hours. Or until it looks yogurt-ey and not like milk anymore.  As in, you can stick a spoon in it and take out a spoonful.

-If you want runny yogurt, you are done at this point.

-If you want greek-style yogurt, the next step is to line a colander with a paper towel or cheesecloth and set in a larger bowl. Dump in your yogurt and let it strain for anywhere from 15 minutes to an hour. The longer you strain the thicker it will be… and the less yogurt you will end up with.  I like ours thick, so it usually sits for about a half hour and I end up with about 4 cups of yogurt out of my 8 cups of milk.

-Spoon into glass jars and place in fridge. It will even get thicker in the fridge.

-Sweeten to taste with whatever you like… I love to use stevia and maple flavoring, and put fresh or frozen berries on it. My kiddos like honey, stevia, peanut butter, cinnamon sugar, berries, mini chocolate chips, jam, you name it.  I typically sweeten it when I get it out, because I like to use it as an alternative to sour cream sometimes.

**Some people take out some yogurt to use in their next batch.  I do this sometimes, but I find that when I use storebought yogurt for my starter it seems to ensure a better result.

***Also, the whey that strains out of the yogurt can actually be used in place of milk in various recipes.  With no noticeable taste difference.  So far I have used it in egg casseroles, meatballs and meatloaf, and bread. It can be frozen and gotten out whenever you remember that you have it in your freezer. haha!  The times I remember it’s in my freezer is when I am NOT doing all the aforementioned things.  But I will say it’s great if you are one of the types who would, in fact, remember. And I have, just a couple times, done just that. Yet another way to feel that I have single-handedly conquered all things domestic.  Well, that and getting laundry put away.  I had three loads of the girls clothes that actually.got.put.in.drawers.   Tonight. Applause, please?    Ah well, I digress.  (I’ve always wanted to write that. Anyhoo.)

There.  See how easy that was?  Amazing.

Now go do it.

You will feel probably feel like the mouse who was given a cookie and needed a glass of milk… you’ll need to make granola next to go with it.  Aaaaand you just might be inspired to buy a cow for your very own fresh milk.  And before you know it? Cheesemaking, here we come!!   So far I feel really great just with making yogurt.  And if I manage granola too? Well, let’s just say it must have been a super awesome day where all the kids were playing happily for longer than a half hour stretch.  Which if you combine that with granola and yogurt making.. yeah.  That’s just a whole bunch of warm fuzzies all wrapped up in one day.

Have fun!

 

 

Leave a Reply

