yarn along: shawl. socks. pie. books.

IMG_3306.JPG

IMG_3305.JPG

IMG_3338.JPG

IMG_3332.JPG

IMG_3333.JPG

IMG_3334.JPG

IMG_3315.JPG

IMG_3312.JPG

IMG_3308.JPG

IMG_3309.JPG

I’ve been chugging along on my golden yellow friendship shawl… getting enough repeats done to be ready for the amazing, dripping, scalloped-lace edge of this shawl.  I can’t wait.  It looks marvelously fun. All the way to Indiana and back, both times, I steadily knit on it.  It’s big enough now that even a few rows takes awhile. Um, yeah.  I just counted.  There’s 403 stitches on this puppy at this point. Yowza.  I had no idea it was that many. No wonder it doesn’t feel like it’s going very fast…

Every once in awhile in between I have picked up these socks to work on…(Butterfly Effect socks on ravelry). It’s a super lovely pattern, and sometimes it’s addicting and other times I’m relieved to get back to the familiarity of not a complicated thing to knit. So I work on my shawl again. = )

Our black raspberries are coming in, and I told the boys on Monday that if they picked enough I would make a pie.  They did, and it was Just. So. Yummy.  I used my husband’s grandma’s not-recipe for the filling…. which involves guesswork, but it’s kind of hard to mess it up, I think.  By the way – I’m not sure why I always see forks in food pictures.  What it looks like is that I just got done eating that much pie?!  It seemed like the right thing to do, so I put a fork in the pie pan.  More on how much pie I ate later. = )

Grandma Frances’ Berry Pie

-Dump several cups of berries (you can use raspberries, blackberries, blueberries, etc.) into a prepared unbaked pie shell.  I used a deeper dish pie pan and had around 4-5 cups of berries.

-Sprinkle sugar heavily on the berries (I’m gonna guess it was around 3/4-1 cup)

-Sprinkle flour heavily – (probably 1/2 cup)

-Gently, very gently, stir the berries so it incorporates the flour throughout.

-Dot with several pats of butter.  I said SEVERAL.  Butter makes it better, trust me. I think I had about 6 nice little pieces of deliciousness on there.

-Pour half and half over the berries, not filling the pan, but just so the berries are at least halfway submerged. I’ve used evaporated milk, milk, or whatever I’ve got on hand.

-Bake at 350 degrees until crust is golden and pie is mostly set.  It will still be a bit wiggly when you get it out, but should set up while cooling.

-EAT!  I enjoyed two pieces (see, totally didn’t eat the whole pie. Only two pieces.last night.  With a cup of creamy coffee.  It was delicious. The first piece was while my kiddos smacked their lips on their own pieces and raved about my superior cooking skills, and the second was after they were all in bed and it was lovely and quiet.  Both experiences were totally worth any and all caloric content.

It was also rather conveniently something my husband loved, and since we were traveling on Father’s Day, he was happily surprised when he got home. As in, eyes wide, large smile, “You made a PIE?”    Now, I have made pies before.  I even like to make pies.  I just don’t do it very often.  Hence, he was a Very Happy Husband.

I’m still reading “For the Children’s Sake”.  And last night I picked up a book I’ve had awhile called “Stepping Heavenward” by Elizabeth Prentiss. It’s such a treasure.  I can tell even just a few pages in.  Written a long time ago, in the early 1900s, it’s written in a very engaging manner.  So far I’m reading about a 16 year old young woman, who is struggling to do right, be right, and understand God and her relationship with him, as well as her family members. I just read the back, and apparently it starts when she is 16, and continues through her life  until just before her death. It’s very honest and forthrightly written.  A perfect thing to read at the end my day yesterday…  I saw this book at the home of a friend.. borrowed it because I was intrigued, and then realized when I got home that I actually had it in my library. Oh how I love a good book. It’s a comforting, beautiful thing.

Happy knitting and reading, all!

Joining Nicole from Frontier Dreams and Ginny from Small Things

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “yarn along: shawl. socks. pie. books.

Leave a Reply

